0 Items

PRSA-MD saluted the state’s top PR professionals on Thursday (Dec. 5) at a special gala at the Monaco Hotel Baltimore.

This year’s Best In Maryland award winners were chosen in 25 categories.  Top honors went to two leading communications experts – Helen Szablya, a nationally recognized Baltimore communications professional, who received the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award; and Lester R. Potter, an accredited business communicator and senior lecturer at Towson University, who was named PR Educator of the Year.

Jessica McKay, public affairs manager for Erickson Living, was named New Professional of the Year.

The PRSA-Maryland Lifetime Achievement Award honors a public relations professional whose career spans 15 years or more and who has exhibited extraordinary achievements, demonstrated outstanding leadership in the field of public relations and upholds the PRSA Code of Ethics. The PR Educator of the Year Award recognizes a PRSA member who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public relations education through college or university teaching.

“At PRSA, we believe our members should be recognized for their hard work and major contributions in public relations,” said PRSA-Maryland President Nneka Jenkins.  “Our Best in Maryland awards are presented annually to PR practitioners who, in the judgment of their peers, have successfully addressed a communications challenge with exemplary professional skill, creativity and resourcefulness.  It is with great joy that we salute this year’s honorees.”

Click here for a full list of winners. 

–Industry News