0 Items


Each year we shine the light on the professionals who make our profession sparkle. Who should we recognize this in 2016?

We offer 5 professional awards, including a brand new one this year to recognize PR Teams. The Lifetime Achievement honors a professional who has exhibited extraordinary achievements and demonstrated outstanding leadership in the field of public relations over a career spanning 15 years or more. Last year Ralph Crosby, Crosby Marketing Communications, received the award. New Professional of the Year goes to an outstanding professional who in their first three years shows an uncanny grasp of PR and a commitment to the profession. Josie Hankey with Fallston Group captured the award in 2015.

We’ve added a new award this year which underscores the truth that most great PR programs are a team effort. This year we announce the PR Team Award and are looking for a robust competition for we know there are many winning teams in Maryland.

Our successful PR professionals have many supporters and partners including educators and business suppliers. Two awards provide our members with an opportunity to call out these sometimes “unsung heroes.” The Educator of the Year offers a chance to thank and recognize the professionals who prepare our next generation. In 2015, Cylor Spaulding, Ph.D., then at Towson University, earned accolades for his dedication. The Partner of Distinction celebrates the profession’s partners – a vendor or supplier recognized for outstanding support of a public relations/communications program or the profession as a whole. Erickson Living received the 2015 award.

So, who do you know that we should shine the spotlight on? Nominees do not need to be a PRSA-MD member to be nominated. You can get check out the application, past winners and more details at PRSA MD Professional Awards. Hurry – our deadline is October 15, 2016.

The Awards will be presented at the Best in Maryland Gala on December 8. We will also be announcing all the Best in Maryland Awards and are pleased to share that Susan Goldberg Editor in Chief of National Geographic is our keynote.

Questions? Contact us!

–Industry News