0 Items

by Jeff Davis
Originally appeared in Capitol Communicator (updated 12/12/2016)

A. Bright Idea wins Best in Show

A. Bright Idea wins Best in Show

A recruitment program for the Army National Guard by A. Bright Idea took top honors as “Best in Show” at the Public Relations Society of America’s Maryland Chapter “Best in Maryland” gala while Crosby Marketing Communications won the most awards – seven – at the Dec. 8 event in Baltimore.

A. Bright Idea, headquartered in Bel Air with offices on both coasts and headed by CEO Anita Brightman, APR, Fellow PRSA, executed the national Action Events program through school-based event management, media relations, social media execution, creative development and promotional items. This initiative included BMX stunt performances across the country, placing recruiters in front of high school students to share messaging about core values. The campaign doubled the quality level of leads for the client.

At the event held at the Belvedere in Baltimore marking the chapter’s 55th anniversary, more than 150 turned out to acknowledge tactical and program entries from across the state.

Crosby Marketing Communications, a Capitol Communicator sponsor, walked away with seven awards, while other agencies collecting multiple trophies included Abel Communications (six), Planit (five) and Clapp Communications (four).

Others that were recognized with awards included:

ASPR; Baltimore Gas & Electric; Bonnie Heneson Communications, Inc.; Chesapeake Employers’ Insurance Company; Comcast; Cystic Fibrosis Foundation; and Devaney & Associates, Inc.; Erickson Living; Golin; Irvine Nature Center; Johns Hopkins University Press; and LifeBridge Health.

Also, Lutheran World Relief; Maryland Lottery and Gaming; Maryland Port Administration; and News Generation, Inc.; The Baltimore Life Companies; University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and Vitamin. See the PRSA Maryland website for the full list.

The Professional honorees were Lifetime Achievement – Louise Lake Hayman, APR, Fellow PRSA; Veronica Gunnerson of Loyola University Maryland as Educator of the Year; and Lauren Michelotti of AECOM, New Professional of the Year.

Chesapeake Employers’ Insurance Company was acknowledged as PR Team of the Year, including members Donna Wilson, SVP communications and strategic planning; Jim Taylor, communications director; Claudia Ciolfi, manager of PR and strategic communications; Carolyn Gutermuth, manager of community relations; Dianna Fornaro, communications specialist; Archie Johnson, communications specialist; and Meaghan Yurek, communications associate and graphic designer.

A highlight of the evening was the keynote address by Susan Goldberg, editor of National Geographic.

Sponsors included Clapp Communications; VitaminVan EperenHarry Bosk PR and Photography; PCA – An RR Donnelley Company; Flowers & Fancies and Erickson Living.

In the photo, left to right, are: Leanne Eck, interactive designer, A. Bright Idea; Kevin Hess, communications events specialist, A. Bright Idea; and Daniel Dunne, APR, PRSA President and Director of Communications, Erickson Living.

Photo Credit: Harry Bosk PR and Photography

–Industry News